The Faculty of Education is one of the six Faculties at Kyambogo University. It currently consists of seven Departments:

Department of Psychology

Department of Foundations of Education

Department of Educational Planning and Management

Department of Teacher Education

Department of Early Childhood Education

Department of Curriculum, Teaching, Instruction and Media Studies

Department of Distance Education

As exemplified by the above departments, the Faculty has a distinguished reputation in teacher education and training at all levels.

The Faculty is vibrant in academics, research, and organizing both national and international conferences. As the flagship Faculty of the national mandate of teacher Education in Uganda, the Faculty has the responsibility to develop curricula for Early Childhood Teacher Training Institutes, all Primary Teachers’ Colleges (PTCs), National Teachers’ Colleges (NTCs) and Instructor Technical Teacher Education Colleges/Institutes. Given this key role, the Faculty has over time built professional capacity and has “master” educators and trainers, several of whom serve on national and international teacher training programmes.

Academic Programmes

The programmes highlighted below give you a snapshot of the Faculty’s popular Postgraduate and Undergraduate Programmes:

  • PhD in Education
  • Master of Counseling Psychology
  • Master of Organization Psychology
  • Master of Education in Early Childhood Education
  • Master of Education in Educational Foundations
  • Master of Education in Policy, Planning, and Management
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Teacher Education
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Education
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Educational Management and Leadership

At the Undergraduate level, the Faculty offers the following programmes

  • Bachelor of Guidance and Counseling
  • Bachelor of Teacher Education
  • Bachelor of Education (Regular)
  • Bachelor of Education (ODeL)
  • Bachelor of Education (Special Needs Education)
  • Bachelor of Education – Primary (External)
  • Bachelor of Education – Secondary (External)
  • Diploma in Education (Early Childhood Development)
  • Diploma in Instructor Technical Teacher Education
  • Diploma in Educational Planning and Management
  • Diploma in Education – Primary (External)
  • Diploma in Special Needs Education (External)