About the Faculty of Science

Faculty of Science has seven departments offering science-based courses deeply rooted in the heritage of Uganda Polytechnic College with hands-on training to provide graduates with necessary knowledge and skills to meet the challenges of working in a modern workplace. The training provides graduates with the foundation to succeed academically and professionally in the field of study.

The faculty currently has seven (7) departments, with several courses being undertaken at each of the different departments. The different courses offered at the seven departments include; 

Department of Biological Sciences

  • Doctor of Philosophy in Biological science
  • Master of Science in Conservation and Natural Resource Management
  • Master of Public Health
  • Bachelor of Science Technology (Biology)
  • Bachelor with Education (Biological Sciences)
  • Diploma in Science Technology (Biology)

Department of Chemistry

  • Doctor of philosophy in chemistry
  • Master of Science in Chemistry
  • Bachelor of Science in Oil and Gas Production
  • Bachelor of Science in Leather Tanning Technology
  • Bachelor of Science Technology (Chemistry)
  • Bachelor of Textile and Clothing Technology
  • Bachelor of Chemical Engineering
  • Diploma in Science Technology (Chemistry)

Department of Computer Science

Department of Mathematics

  • Bachelor of Science in Statistics
  • Bachelor with Education (Economics)

Department of Food Technology

  • Doctor of Philosophy in Food Technology
  • Master of Science in Food Technology
  • Bachelor of Food Science and Processing Technology
  • Post Graduate Diploma in Food Safety Management
  • Diploma in Food Processing Technology
  • Certificate in Food Processing Technology

Department of Physics

  • Doctor of Philosophy in Physics
  • Master of Science in Physics
  • Bachelor of Science Technology (Physics)
  • Bachelor of Science with Education (Physical Sciences)
  • Bachelor of Science in Material and Ceramic Science Technology
  • Diploma in Science Technology (Physics)

Department of SportScience

  • Doctor of philosophy in sports science
  • Master of Science in Sports Science
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Sports Management
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Physical Education and Sports
  • Bachelor of Sports and Leisure Management
  • Bachelor of Sports and Exercise