University Council

Mary Goretti Nakabugo, PhD - Chairperson of Council

Message from the Chairperson

Dear members of Kyambogo University Council, Management, Secretariat and other University staff in-attendance (including the helpers of Dr Sam Lutalo-Kiingi and Hon. Flavia Niringiyimana), the entire University Community, Ladies and Gentlemen.

I am honoured to have been elected chairperson of Kyambogo University Council, with Counsel Sarah Babirye Lubega fulfilling the important role of Vice Chairperson. Each of us brings relevant experience and expertise, and with the support of the full Council – continuing and new members alike – we are confident that this 5th Kyambogo University Council is well-placed to fulfil its obligations to the University over the next four years.


On my part as the new Chairperson of Council, I can’t say enough how proud and honoured I am to be part of the team leading one of Uganda’s finest universities.

Mrs. Sarah Babirye Lubega

Vice-Chairperson of Council and a Council Member Representing Government

Prof. Eli Katunguka Rwakishaya

Vice-Chancellor and Council Member

Prof. Maria Musoke, Deputy

Vice-Chancellor Academic Affairs and Council Member

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Finance & Administration

Assoc. Prof. Justus Kwetegyeka

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Finance & Administration

Mr. Arthur Katongole

Ag. Secretary to the University Council

Assoc. Prof. John Baptist Kirabira

Council Member representing Uganda Institute of Professional Engineers

Prof. Joseph Y.T. Mugisha

Council Member Representing Government

Ass. Prof. Mary Basaasa Muhenda

Council Member Representing the Public

Mr. Mustapha Acidri

Council Member representing Ministry of Finance Planning and Economic Development

Mr. Jackson Betihama

Council Member Representing Kyambogo University Senior Administrative Staff

Mr. Francis Nsamba

Representing National Union of Education Institutions- Kyambogo Support Staff

Dr. Sam Lutalo Kiingi

Council Member Representing Kyambogo University Staff with Disabilities

Rev. Dr. Grace Lubaale

Council Member Representing Kyambogo University Academic Staff

Ms. Flavia Niringiyimana

Council Member Representing National Union of Disabled Persons of Uganda

His Lordship Lawrence Tweyanze

Council Member Representing the Public

Mr. Bright Mugisha

Council Member Representing the Public

Dr. Robert Ojambo

Council Member Representing Kyambogo University Academic Staff

Kenneth Mbogo

Chair Convocation, Member

Policies and Regulations

The university has develop a number of policies and regulations to government the different services and programmes to ensure streamlined mode of operation.

Strategic Plan

Kyambogo University has developed the Strategic Plan 2020/21 – 2024/25 to guide implementation of its mandate upon expiry of the current Strategic Plan in June 2020.